Newsletter – 4th May 2018

Our first bit of great news this week is to say congratulations to Miss Reeder who will be leaving us for a little while at the end of the summer term as she is expecting a baby!

Year 3 classes were finally able to catch up on a missed trip this week, and in glorious weather rather than snow!  They had fun investigating dietary habits of dinosaurs, building fossils, finding out the length of a diplodocus and making their own dinosaurs from clay.

In Year 4, 4SB and 4JT are spending today at Southend Museum as part of their work on Romans.

Every so often a new craze sweeps through school and the latest one is the game Fortnite, a game with a rating that says it is unsuitable for children under the age of 12. So far the only real impact of it on the children at school are some very entertaining dance offs but, as with a lot of our online world, we need to make sure we are aware of what is influencing our children. The use of social media such as Facebook and Instagram has been proven to have some negative consequences when used by younger children who aren’t emotionally ready to cope with it. Below is a link to an article about some of the issues they can cause if left unsupervised. You know your child better than anyone and it is for you to judge what they should and shouldn’t be doing on the internet at home, we are just trying to keep everyone informed where we can!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-43988210

PTA news

On Friday 18th May 2018 we will be welcoming back Go Bonkers for an Inflatable Fun Day! Thank you to everyone who returned their slips and payment, your wristbands will be returned to you via your children next week. Please keep them safe as we cannot reissue them. Please remember to wear them to the event as there is no entry without a wristband. We are still in need of volunteers to help at this event so if you able to, please email ptachalkwellhall@gmail.com

Thank you to everyone who has already offered to have a Coulson James board advertising our Summer Fete on Saturday 30th June 2018, 12-3pm. For every board that goes up, Coulson James have kindly offered to make a donation to the PTA!  Boards will be put up approximately 2 weeks before the fete and taken down a week after. If you are happy to have a board, please email ptachalkwellhall@gmail.com with your name, address and post code.

If you are interested in any discounted Aladdin tickets at The Prince Edward Theatre on Tuesday 4th September at 7.30pm, please email ptachalkwellhall@gmail.com with the number you require so we can finalise numbers with the theatre. Please note all requests and payments must be made by Friday 11th May 2018.

Attendance matters

The number of lates this week was 37. Our overall attendance so far is 96.3%.

Dates for your diary 2018
5CF Class Assembly Thursday 11th May 2018 at 2.30pm
5DS Class Assembly Thursday 17th May 2018 at 2.30pm
Go Bonkers Friday 18th May 2018
Open Afternoon Tuesday 22nd May 2018 from 2.45pm
3SR Class Assembly Thursday 24th May 2018 at 2.30pm
HALF TERM 29th May 2018 to 1st June 2018
NON PUPIL DAY Monday 4th June 2018
Class Photographs Thursday 7th June 2018
Year 3 & 4 PGL Weekend Friday 8th June 2018 to Sunday 10th June 2018
3GB Class Assembly Thursday 14th June 2018 at 2.30pm
4AH Class Assembly Thursday 21st June 2018 at 2.30pm
5JW Class Assembly Thursday 28th June 2018 at 2.30pm
Sports Day Monday 2nd July 2018

Lower school – am, Upper school – pm

4JT Class Assembly Thursday 5th July 2018 at 2.30pm
Open Afternoon Tuesday 10th July 2018 at 2.45pm to 3.15pm
4SB Class Assembly Thursday 12th July 2018 at 2.30pm
Last day of term Friday 20th July 2018

 

Thank you for your continued support.